Vision

We are creating a growth market for health that paradoxically needs and creates more sick people. This is what’s going wrong: Our healthcare comes in when there is disease – hence one should rather speak of "disease care". Actors in the system profit when there is illness. The incentives are set in such a way that illness promises profit and higher income. Do we want a disease growth market? It contradicts our need to promote health. Don’t we want to boost the amount of diagnoses? Don’t we want a higher degree of individual health and a better health of our population? Then it is urgent that we rethink health. It needs new incentives. Healthy = poorly examined - cannot be the future of our healthcare system.

Mission

A social security growth market? Since the introduction of the Federal Law on Health Insurance (KVG) in 1996, health insurance premiums have increased by an average of 4.6 percent each year. Has politics failed? Any saving measures will result in overall additional costs, a premium increase and less performance. Health costs are rising rapidly, and consequently also premiums. Since 1996, the costs per insured person have more than doubled (1996: CHF 1’547, 2006: CHF 2’758, 2016: CHF 3’763 per insured person). Within 10 years, these have increased by a good third. Swiss healthcare is one of the most expensive in the world. Today, Switzerland spends around 11 percent of its economic output on healthcare. According to federal forecasts, this share will continue to increase in the future. The cost development is reflected in the premiums. The permanent increase far above the inflation rate leads to an increasing burden on the premium payer - a loss of real wages that cannot be ignored. The burden on mid-level income persons and families, who have no claim on individual premium reduction, is especially great. On average, Swiss households spend around 7 percent of their gross income on health insurance premiums. There are also reports that speak of 14%. Especially households in lower income classes or families are disproportionately burdened. For example, a family of four pays around CHF 15,000 per annum in health insurance premiums.

The one who pays everything - the premium payer, however, has no voice in healthcare. We have no voice. Can we correct this? With the Public Interest Organization Premium Payers (IGPZ) we are building a political lobby for the premium payer and taxpayer and are committed to reducing wrong incentives.

As long as we, who ultimately finance the healthcare system, have no say, the lucrative “market of disease care” continues to grow unabated.

Our healthcare has to be re-designed to be healthier, cheaper and better - we demand efficiency for the premium payer and patient. A growth market in social insurance of sickness is inefficient for everyone.

Goals

Participation

We participate in the public debate and take a stand in the political debate in the field of public health, including legislative hearings and consultations.

To the statement (in German)

In addition, we create the opportunity for each premium payer to participate in the control and approval of their invoices - within the framework of our “eBill” project.

To the projects

Transparency

We strengthen transparency. The obscurity of the Swiss healthcare system is evident in many areas, including the lack of information on the quality of indications of treatments and the associated quality of results. We start with the bills.

To the projects

Care

The potential for high-quality, future-oriented and needs-oriented healthcare is there. However, it is increasingly destabilized by a permanent increase in costs. At the same time, there is no appreciable value add for the premium payer and patients with which this increase in costs can be justified. Unclear distribution of responsibilities and questionable financial incentives lead to over-supply in outpatient medicine, overcapacity in the inpatient sector and an "arms race" between the hospitals in the medical-technical area. At the same time, a supply and financing crisis is emerging in outpatient and inpatient long-term care. There is also a risk of supply shortages in the areas of psychiatry and rehabilitation. The Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences SAMW is warning against this in its report on rationing in healthcare. Furthermore, the SAMW points out that an unused savings potential without quality loss of 6-7 billion CHF exists. Under the guise of self-responsibility, the premium payer will also be further burdened. An expansion of benefits in supplementary insurance or an increase in the franchise are examples. We take a firm stand against these developments.

We are committed to this: avoiding wastage, preventing undersupply and promoting need-based care with equal, good access for all. We support existing projects for interprofessional cooperation in care as well as projects that reduce financial disincentives, including the possibility to obtain second opinions without cost.

To the statement (in German)

Quality

Healthcare in Switzerland is one of the world's most expensive, but at the same time is of high quality. It is accessible to the whole population, a free choice of doctors is guaranteed and there are no noteworthy waiting times for treatments and operations. However, there is only limited correlation between health expenditure and the outcomes of the health care system. Projects that improve the quality of care often help to save costs. We support such projects. These include in particular the Health Technology Assessments (HTA), the Critical Incidence Report Systems (CIRS) and in turn cross-sectoral care. At the same time, prevention plays a major role in the quality of results. Prevention before treatment and care in many cases is useful, better and cheaper.

Vision

Wir schaffen einen Wachstumsmarkt Gesundheit, der paradoxerweise mehr Kranke braucht und schafft. Das läuft falsch: Unser Gesundheitswesen beginnt mit der Krankheit – man müsste eher von einen «Krankheitswesen» sprechen. Alle Akteure verdienen an Krankheit. Die Anreize sind so gesetzt, dass Krankheit Gewinn und höheres Einkommen verspricht. Wollen wir einen Wachstumsmarkt Krankheit? Hier besteht ein Widerspruch zu unserem Bedürfnis, Gesundheit zu fördern. Wollen wir die Menge der Diagnosen fördern? Wollen wir einen hohen Grad an individueller Gesundheit und eine hohe Bevölkerungsgesundheit? Dann ist es dringend, dass wir Gesundheit neu denken. Dabei braucht es neue Anreize. Gesund = schlecht untersucht – kann nicht die Zukunft unseres Gesundheitswesens sein.

Mission

Ein Wachstumsmarkt in der Sozialversicherung? Seit der Einführung des Bundesgesetzes über die Krankenversicherung (KVG) im Jahr 1996 steigen die Krankenkassenprämien jedes Jahr durchschnittlich um 4,6 Prozent. Hat die Politik versagt? Jede Sparmassnahme führt gesamthaft zu Mehrkosten, Prämienerhöhung und weniger Leistung. Die Gesundheitskosten steigen schnell und in der Folge auch die Prämien. Seit 1996 haben sich die Kosten pro versicherte Person somit mehr als verdoppelt (1996: 1‘547 Franken, 2006: 2‘758 Franken, 2016: 3‘763 Franken pro versicherte Person). Innert 10 Jahren sind diese um gut ein Drittel gestiegen. Das Gesundheitswesen der Schweiz ist damit weltweit eines der teuersten. Heute wendet die Schweiz rund 11 Prozent ihrer Wirtschaftsleistung für das Gesundheitswesen auf. Dieser Anteil wird gemäss Prognosen des Bundes künftig weiterhin zunehmen. Die Kostenentwicklung widerspiegelt sich in den Prämien. Der permanente Anstieg weit über der Teuerungsrate führt zu einer immer höheren Belastung der Prämienzahler. Ein Realllohnverlust, der nicht weiter ignoriert werden kann. Speziell gross ist die Belastung für mittelständische Personen und Familien, welche knapp keinen Anspruch auf die individuelle Prämienverbilligung haben. Im Schnitt geben Schweizer Haushalte rund 7 Prozent ihres Bruttoeinkommens für Krankenkassenprämien aus. Es gibt auch Angaben die von 14% sprechen. Vor allem Haushalte tieferer Einkommensklassen oder Familien werden überproportional belastet. So bezahlt eine vierköpfige Familie pro Jahr rund 15‘000 Franken an Krankenkassenprämien.

Derjenige der alles zahlt – der Prämienzahler- hat jedoch keine Stimme im Gesundheitswesen. Wir haben keine Stimme. Können wir dies korrigieren? Mit der Interessengemeinschaft Prämienzahler bauen wir eine politische Lobby für den Prämienzahler und Steuerzahler auf und engagieren uns, Fehlanreize abzubauen.

Solange wir, die das Gesundheitswesen letztlich finanzieren, keine Stimme haben, wächst der lukrative «Markt» Krankheitswesen ungebremst weiter.

Unser Gesundheitswesen soll auf Gesundheit ausgerichtet und günstiger sowie besser werden – wir fordern Effizienz für den Prämienzahler und Patienten. Ein Wachstumsmarkt in der Sozialversicherung Krankheit ist ineffizient für alle.

Ziele

Mitbestimmung

Wir wirken mit in der öffentlichen Diskussion und beziehen Stellung in der politischen Debatte im Krankheitswesen einschliesslich der Vernehmlassungen und Anhörungen.

Zu den Stellungnahmen

Zudem schaffen wir für jeden Prämienzahler die Möglichkeit, sich an der Kontrolle und Freigabe seiner Rechnungen zu beteiligen – dies im Rahmen unseres Projektes «Rechnungen».

Zu den Projekten

Transparenz

Wir stärken Transparenz. Die Undurchsichtigkeit des schweizerischen Gesundheitssystem ist in vielen Bereichen offensichtlich, dazu gehört auch der Mangel an Informationen über die Qualität der Indikationsstellung und die zugehörige Ergebnisqualität. Wir beginnen mit den Rechnungen.

Zu den Projekten

Versorgung

Das Potenzial für eine qualitativ hochstehende, zukunftsfähige und bedürfnisorientierte Gesundheitsversorgung ist vorhanden. Es wird jedoch durch einen permanenten Kostenanstieg zunehmend destabilisiert. Gleichzeitig fehlt ein nennenswerter Mehrwert für die Prämienzahler und Patienten, mit dem dieser Kostenanstieg begründbar ist. Unklare Kompetenzverteilung und fragwürdige finanzielle Anreize führen zu Überversorgung in der ambulanten Medizin, Überkapazitäten im stationären Sektor und einem „Wettrüsten“ zwischen den Spitälern im medizinisch-technischen Bereich. Zugleich zeichnet sich eine Versorgungs- und Finanzierungskrise bei der ambulanten und stationären Langzeitpflege ab. In den Bereichen Psychiatrie und Rehabilitation gibt es ebenfalls ein Risiko von Versorgungsengpässen. Davor warnt die Schweizerische Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften SAMW in ihrem Bericht zur Rationierung im Gesundheitswesen. Auch weist die SAMW darauf hin, dass ein ungenutztes Sparpotential ohne Qualitätseinbusse von 6-7 Milliarden CHF existiert. Unter dem Deckmantel der Selbstverantwortung soll der Prämienzahler zudem zusätzlich weiter belastet werden. Ein Ausbau der Leistungen in der Zusatzversicherung oder eine Erhöhung der Franchise sind Beispiele. Zu diesen Entwicklungen nehmen wir dezidiert Stellung.

Dafür setzen wir uns ein: Verschwendung vermeiden, Unterversorgung verhindern und eine bedarfsgerechte Versorgung mit gleichem, guten Zugang für alle fördern. Wir unterstützen bestehende Projekte zur interprofessionellen Zusammenarbeit in der Versorgung sowie Projekte, die finanzielle Fehlanreize abbauen, dazu gehört auch die Möglichkeit Zweitmeinungen ohne Kostenfolge einzuholen.

Zu den Stellungnahmen

Qualität

Das Gesundheitswesen in der Schweiz gehört weltweit zu den teuersten, weist aber zugleich eine hohe Qualität auf. Es ist für die ganze Bevölkerung zugänglich, die freie Arztwahl ist noch gewährleistet und es gibt noch keine nennenswerten Wartezeiten für Behandlungen und Operationen. Allerdings besteht nur bedingt einen Zusammenhang zwischen den Gesundheitsausgaben und den Resultaten, die ein Gesundheitssystem erzielt. Projekte, welche die Qualität der Versorgung verbessern, helfen häufig Kosten einzusparen. Wir unterstützen solche Projekte. Hier sind insbesondere die Health Technology Assessments (HTA), die Critical Incidence Report Systems (CIRS) und wiederum die sektorenübergreifende Versorgung zu nennen. Gleichzeitig spielt die Prävention für die Qualität der Ergebnisse eine grosse Rolle. Prävention vor Behandlung und Pflege ist in vielen Fällen sinnvoll, besser und günstiger.